Information for insured parties

The 9/11 attacks on New York and the subsequent attacks on Madrid and London have made the potential consequences of terrorism clear to all. For this reason, the Belgian insurance sector and public authorities have devised a way of supplying you with the best possible coverage against such risks.
This joint approach led to the Law of 1 April 2007 on insurance against damage caused by terrorism. This law was scheduled to come into force as of 1 May 2008.

For this purpose, insurers founded a non-profit organisation: ASBL/VZW TRIP (Terrorism Reinsurance and Insurance Pool). This organisation is intended to cover the consequences of a terrorist act in accordance with the guarantees supplied by its members (insurance companies). The insurance companies share the claims costs between each other and a solidarity mechanism guarantees extra protection by grouping together the resources of the insurance sector and the Belgian State. In the event of a terrorist act, the members (insurance companies) will first support each other so as to be able to compensate insured parties who are victims of the act. If the cost of the claims is very high, the Belgian State also provides assistance.

Through this cooperation, it has been possible to release
€ 1 billion per year (indexed) to fund compensation of claims generated by terrorist acts. Should the total amount of the claims exceed this sum, the compensation paid out is reduced accordingly.

ASBL/VZW TRIP enables your insurance policies to cover the consequences of terrorist acts more effectively. The risk that a terrorist act may jeopardise your insurance company, so that it may no longer be able to supply coverage in the future, has been considerably reduced.

To which policies does this apply?

The law stipulates that a number of insurance policies must cover injury/damage caused by terrorism: workmen’s compensation insurance, TPL motor vehicle insurance), civil liability fire and explosion insurance for public venues, fire insurance for simple risks (e.g. homes and small businesses), accident insurance, hospitalisation insurance and life insurance.

As far as other types of insurance are concerned, companies may decide whether or not to provide terrorism coverage. However, should they wish to exclude such coverage, they must do so explicitly.

To find out whether you are covered, contact your insurer or insurance broker.

You will find answers to many of your questions in the FAQ section.

ASBL/VZW TRIP - Terrorism Reinsurance & Insurance Pool - de Meeûssquare / Square de Meeûs, 29 - 1000 Brussels - Belgium

Information pour les assurés

Les attentats à New York du 11 septembre 2001, et ensuite à Madrid et à Londres, ont fait apparaître, aux yeux de tous, quelles peuvent être les conséquences du terrorisme. C’est pourquoi, le monde de l’assurance et les autorités ont souhaité continuer à vous protéger le mieux possible contre ces risques.
Leur approche commune a abouti à la loi du 1er avril 2007 relative à l'assurance contre les dommages causés par le terrorisme. L’entrée en vigueur de cette loi a été fixée au 1er mai 2008.

A cet égard, les assureurs ont créé une ASBL : TRIP (Terrorism Reinsurance and Insurance Pool). Cette ASBL doit contribuer à la prise en charge des conséquences d’un acte de terrorisme en fonction des garanties accordées par ses membres (entreprises d'assurances). Les entreprises d’assurances répartissent les charges entre elles et un mécanisme solidaire garantit une protection supplémentaire par un regroupement des moyens du secteur de l’assurance et de l’Etat. En cas d’attentat, ce sont d’abord les assureurs qui se soutiendront mutuellement afin de pouvoir indemniser les assurés qui en sont victimes. Si les dommages s’avèrent très élevés, l’Etat viendra également en aide.

Grâce à cette collaboration, un montant d’un milliard d’euros par an a pu être dégagé pour les indemnisations consécutives à un acte de terrorisme. Si les dommages assurés devaient dépasser ce montant, une réduction proportionnelle des indemnisations serait appliquée.

Grâce à l’ASBL TRIP, vos assurances peuvent désormais mieux prendre en charge les conséquences d’actes de terrorisme. Ainsi, le risque qu’un tel acte mette votre compagnie d’assurances en difficulté et que, de ce fait, celle-ci soit amenée à ne plus accorder sa couverture pour l’avenir, diminue considérablement.

De quels contrats s’agit-il ?

La loi prévoit qu’un certain nombre de type d’assurance doivent obligatoirement couvrir les dommages consécutifs au terrorisme : assurances accidents du travail, assurances responsabilité civile auto, assurances responsabilité civile en cas d’incendie ou d’explosion dans des lieux publics, assurance incendie risques simples (entre autres, habitations et petits commerces), assurances accidents, assurances hospitalisation et assurances vie.

Pour les autres types d’assurance, les entreprises d’assurance sont libres de proposer la couverture du terrorisme ou non. Mais si elles veulent l’exclure, elles doivent le faire en termes explicites.

Pour savoir si vous êtes couverts, le mieux est de vous adresser à votre assureur ou à votre intermédiaire.

Vous trouverez dans la rubrique « questions fréquemment posées » la réponse à la plupart de vos questions.

ASBL TRIP - Terrorism Reinsurance & Insurance Pool - Square de Meeûs, 29 - 1000 Bruxelles - Belgique